Sliánte! (Cheers!)

This was right before we checked our bag mad saw a man getting CPR. I couldn't help but question our fate after that (we prayed for him though)
This was right before we checked our bag and saw a man getting CPR. I couldn’t help but question our fate after that (we prayed for him though)

Well, I’m all about adventures but I wasn’t too sure what kind of adventure this was going to be when Nicole and I went to check our bags and there was a man on the floor receiving CPR. I couldn’t help but think “Is this my fate?” “God, are you up there? What are you trying to tell me?” (Although I’m not sure what happened to this man, my deepest sympathies and prayers are with him!)

Anyways, things got better. We managed to make all 3 of our connecting flights, however we definitely almost missed the final seeing as how we wanted to have a “sit-down” traditional English breakfast (see below).
(did a bit of plane drinking…..)

No worries though! We arrived in Ireland as lost as ever. By the time we finally caught the right bus to where we were staying we walked around for an hour on the street looking for the house, with no address. Definitely a rookie mistake. Finally, as I am in breakdown mode Nicole starts knocking on random doors and finally a sweet, sweet girl directs us to the cute little Holly college that we stayed in. Teresa opened the door,call of 4’9″ , a full head of gray hair, and a thick Irish accent saying “girs, girs, girs! I was abou’ to have them look for ye'” … And that’s basically when I fell in love with Ireland.

...damn near impossible to find!
…damn near impossible to find!

Traditional English breakfast!

English latte

I could not get comfortable on that seven hour flight.... I had to call in for back ups! Tito's always saves the day.
I could not get comfortable on that seven hour flight…. I had to call in for back ups! Tito’s aWays saves the day.

After resting for a bit, we went to explore Temple Bar. We wandered in to the Old Storehouse to have dinner. There was live music and beer. Perfect. About five hours later, we were drunk made friends with the guy singing, two bartenders (Ian and Eamus who called us “Princess”), a patron who was also a bartender, and an older scottish man. Needless to say we were thoroughly entertained. I had every Irish beer on tap, an Irish coffee, and a brandy and baileys shot…. Yes, the night went downhill especially when we got our check that was €104.75 (That translates to about $160). (WTF!)

We left just in time to make one of the last trams home (of course getting lost in the process).

What a great first night.

Ian told us to go behind the bar so he could get our picture and Eamus the other bartender hopped in!
Ian told us to go behind the bar so he could get our picture and Eamus the other bartender hopped in!

Irish coffee
Brandy and baileys
Traditional fish and chips
20140607-023301-9181840.jpg
The dreadful check

Leave a comment